As a Mom of 3 school age children, I have had the opportunity to experience various forms of technology that support their studies. One of these tools is Screen Cast O Matic. This is a free video screen sharing platform that allows multiple applications in the classroom. With my children, it was used to give feedback with the assignment rubric outlined and super easy to follow as the teacher evaluated their work. In the classes I teach, I use it to create a blended classroom experience or among my colleagues to highlight new features with our online classroom. I try to have the videos no more than 10 minutes with the screen sharing. It is a nice way to support students of varied abilities, especially those who are auditory or visual learners. It also features a yellow tracking cursor that gives directional focus to students needing more literacy support. I am considering upgrading to some paid features, but for the time being, it is serving my needs well in the classroom to support students.

5 thoughts on “Screen Cast O Matic-Post 1

  1. I have tried this and it seems like a great tool. I should have sprung for the upgraded version, but was not sure it was the best one for me. Nice post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Katie, nice post. For screen recording I have used Quicktime in the past for basic short instructional videos or even the screen recoding functions in GoTo Meeting to capture stuff for training purposes. Windows 2016 forward has a screen recording function that’s associated with xbox so gamers can record their exploits. I found it by accident when looking for a quick way to capture some a step by step process.

    Like

Leave a comment